What's On



Classical Season 2018/19 | Small is Beautiful Presents

Musique de chambre

Booking Information

Venue: Sage Two

Tickets: £14.50


Alasdair Beatson piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Farrenc Sextet for Piano and Wind Op.40
Saint-Saëns Sonata for Oboe and Piano
Françaix L’Heure du berger
Chausson Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet

Louise Farrenc has been called ‘the greatest female composer of the 19th century’, and today her magnificent C minor Sextet heads a whole parade of French chamber music – from the elegance of Saint-Saëns and Françaix to the fin-de-siècle indulgence of Chausson’s luscious Concerto.