What's On



Royal Northern Sinfonia: Haydn, Kapralova & Dvorak

Booking Information

Venue: The Maltings, Berwick

Tickets: £13.50 (£10 / £12 concs), accompanied under 16s go free (two tickets per adult)


Join us for an evening of exciting and innovative string music, performed by Royal Northern Sinfonia, Orchestra of Sage Gateshead.

Haydns String Quartets Op. 20 earned him the title father of the string quartet as they developed composition techniques that were to define the string quartet as a medium until the 20th century, not least because each instrument within the quartet was given its own voice and personality. This personality naturally generated evocative and emotive writing, particularly as the quartets were written at a time of personal tension for Haydn. Royal Northern Sinfonia present String Quartet No. 4 in D major, considered the most popular, and met with the most public recognition.

Kapralovas String Quartet Op. 8 was written when the composer was aged just 20 in 1935, as part of her studies. However, it was only in 2009 that performers stopped relying on a handful of conflicting hand-written scores. This exciting work combines traditional folk rhythms with more modern harmonies, resulting in an enticing blend!

To complete the line-up the musicians will perform Dvoraks String Quintet in G, infamous for its inclusion of a double bass. The quintet was originally written in five movements, but Dvorak removed the second (Intermezzo) as he believed having two slow movements made the work too long. It is rich and melodic a joy for performer and listener alike!

Royal Northern Sinfonia, is the UKs only full time chamber orchestra. Founded in 1958, RNS has built a world-wide reputation for the North East through the quality of its music making and the immediacy of the connections the musicians make with audiences.

“Performers obvious enjoyment gives such outstanding performances even more appeal”

York Press, Ryedale Festival performance

“The entire orchestral were accomplished, evoking emotions I never knew I had”

Northumberland Gazette, Nordic Summer Nights

“The level of musical accomplishment merits higher praise”

The Telegraph, Marriage of Figaro